top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDaniel Fyffe-Jardine

Salted caramel and rum

This is my first blog in a while, sorry - things have been a little crazy this last month between training, travelling for work and the executive coaching qualification (yes I'm still doing that, just at an absolute snail's pace. If I ever see another Coaching Diary Template I might punch somebody.)


It has been a great month for little milestones. Who doesn't like a good milestone? The chance to tick something off the list and celebrate mini-achievements? The first one was passing 1000km of running for the year in Strava. Not bad considering that running only makes up 50% of the training programme. To celebrate I treated myself to a salted caramel cake in a tub, which I paid for the next day on my big run with an awkward unplanned ‘pitstop’ at the Musselburgh Sports Centre’s loo. I don’t think I’m welcome back there.


I’ve had some great events too including two Tough Mudders and a PB (1hour 36min) on the Great North Run in Newcastle. I wrecked my feet but the atmosphere was amazing and it was emotional having a crowd out cheering for the first time since the pandemic. It took me a whole 20 minutes of wondering who the other Daniel was that everyone kept cheering for to realise that I had my name printed on my race number! To be fair I normally only get called Daniel when I’m in trouble.


I also went to London and had a night out with some friends that included drinking rum at Cubana for the first time in a long time - needless to say that I’m officially a lightweight now and rum certainly won that little match up pretty comfortably. I also bought a very colourful new pair of running shoes which only someone untroubled by doubt (or the ability to see colour) would wear.

There is less than 2 weeks to go till the Loch Ness Marathon. This will be my first ever marathon and I’m more than a little nervous probably because my training programme has been a little disturbed by all the events and races in the last few weeks. I’m hoping to do one last big run tomorrow morning before I taper off, but I’ve just spotted that we are expecting up to 60km winds during the morning! Thanks Scotland!

40 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


bob
bob
Sep 25, 2021

Good blog Dan! 👍

Like

italajardine
Sep 24, 2021

..well done sweetheart…all good training for Panama…. And I’m loving the shoes…

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page